New Investigator Award Endowment (In the name of Dr. Freddie and Mrs. Hilda Pang Fu)


About the Endowment:
The New Investigator Award Endowment (In the name of Dr. Freddie and Mrs. Hilda Pang Fu) provides an annual award of up to $5,000 to be conferred along with the New Investigator Award. This award recognizes a current NATA member who has made and will continue to make significant contributions to the body of knowledge in athletic training and health care of the physically active.


About Dr. Freddie and Mrs. Hilda Pang Fu:
Dr. Fu is a pioneer and authority in sports medicine and recognized as a preeminent leader in orthopaedic surgery and sports medicine across the globe. He has been appointed the David Silver Professor and Chairman of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, home to a large, clinical and research department with 80 faculty members and 60 trainees, at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine. He has served as President of the Pennsylvania Orthopaedic Society and President of the International Society of Arthroscopy, Knee Surgery and Orthopaedic Sports Medicine, the “United Nations of Sports Medicine.” Dr. Fu also serves as the Head Team Physician for the University of Pittsburgh Athletic Department and holds secondary appointments at Pitt as Professor of Mechanical and Material Sciences, Physical Therapy, and Health and Physical Activity. He has received an honorary Doctor of Science degree from Point Park University and an honorary Doctor of Public Service degree from Chatham University in Pittsburgh.

Hilda Pang Fu is a graduate of St. Stephen’s Girls’ School and Hong Kong University, and holds a Master of Library Science degree from the University of Pittsburgh and a Master of Public Management degree from Carnegie Mellon University. She is founder and president of Luminari, a Pittsburgh-based non-profit formed to broaden minds and inspire innovation. She has served as Director of External Relations of the Health Sciences at the University of Pittsburgh, Executive Director of Summer Programs at Point Park University, founding Director of the Pittsburgh Regional Champions, creator of the Pittsburgh Regional Brag Book and former chairwoman of the board of Women and Girls Foundation of Southwestern Pennsylvania, and founding board member of ToonSeum.

Award Recipients:
2012          Patrick McKeon, PhD, ATC, University of Virginia
2011          Steven P. Broglio, PhD, ATC, University of Pittsburgh
2008         Tricia J. Hubbard, PhD, ATC, LAT, Pennsylvania State University
2007         Riann M. Palmieri-Smith, PhD, ATC, University of Michigan
2006         Darin A. Padua, PhD, ATC
2005         Joseph B. Myers, PhD, ATC
2004         J. Ty Hopkins, PhD, ATC, Illinois State University
2003         Sandra J. Shultz, PhD, ATC, CSCS, University of Virginia
2002         Jay Hertel, PhD, ATC, Pennsylvania State University
2001         Douglas V. Casa, PhD, ATC, University of Connecticut
2000         Mitchell L. Cordova, PhD, ATC
1999          Kevin Guskiewicz, PhD, ATC, University of North Carolina
1998          Scott M. Lephart, PhD, ATC, University of Pittsburgh
Commitment:  $100,000
Amount Received:  $23,650
Outstanding Pledges:  $11,900
Total Needed to Endow:  $76,350
Individual Donors:

Christina Allen

Matthew Brick (FRACS)

George Caldwell

Steven  Cohen

Laurence Higgins

James D. Kang

Lee and Lisa Kaplan

Jim Goo Kim

Joyce Koh

Hung-Maan Lee

Scott Lephart

John C. L’Insalata

Joseph Myers

Takumi Nakagawa

Jon Sekiya

Mark Silbey

Todd Swenson

Sam Tejwani

John Ticker